Detailed Report of the 18th Lok Sabha Elections 2024


The 18th Lok Sabha elections in India, conducted in 2024, were a pivotal event in the nation’s political landscape. Spanning over a period from April 19 to June 1, the elections were held in seven phases across 543 constituencies. The results, announced on June 4, 2024, highlighted significant shifts in the political dynamics, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) maintaining power, albeit with a slight decline in its dominance, while several other parties made notable gains.


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

  • Seats Won: 240
  • Change: Lost 63 seats compared to the previous election.
  • Status: Despite a reduction in seats, BJP emerged as the largest party and formed the government with its alliances.

Indian National Congress (INC)

  • Seats Won: 99
  • Change: Gained 47 seats.
  • Status: INC showed a resurgence, marking a significant improvement from its previous performance.

Samajwadi Party (SP)

  • Seats Won: 37
  • Change: Gained 32 seats.
  • Status: SP made substantial gains, reflecting increased support, particularly in its strongholds.

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

  • Seats Won: 29
  • Change: Gained 7 seats.
  • Status: AITC strengthened its position, particularly in West Bengal, where it continues to hold significant influence.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)

  • Seats Won: 22
  • Change: Lost 2 seats.
  • Status: DMK showed strong performance in Tamil Nadu, reflecting its regional dominance.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

  • Seats Won: 16
  • Change: Lost 6 seats.
  • Status: TDP’s performance highlights its continued influence in Andhra Pradesh.

Janata Dal (United) [JD(U)]

  • Seats Won: 12
  • Change: Lost 4 seats.
  • Status: JD(U) secured a solid number of seats, reflecting its regional strength.

Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) [SHSUBT]

  • Seats Won: 9

Nationalist Congress Party – Sharadchandra Pawar (NCPSP)

  • Seats Won: 8
  • Change: Gained 8 seats.
  • Status: NCPSP performed well, maintaining its influence.

Shiv Sena (SHS)

  • Seats Won: 7

Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) [LJPRV]

  • Seats Won: 5
  • Change: Gained 5 seats.
  • Status: LJPRV showed its political presence.

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP)

  • Seats Won: 4
  • Change: Lost 18 seats.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

  • Seats Won: 4
  • Change: Gained 4 seats

Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)]

  • Seats Won: 4
  • Change: Gained 4 seats.
  • Status: CPI(M) maintained its traditional strongholds.

Indian Union Muslim League (IUML)

  • Seats Won: 3
  • Change: Gained 3 seats.
  • Status: IUML continued to represent its constituency.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAAP)

  • Seats Won: 3
  • Change: Gained 2 seats.
  • Status: AAAP showed its growing influence beyond Delhi.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)

  • Seats Won: 3
  • Change: Gained 3 seats.
  • Status: JMM remained significant in Jharkhand politics.

Janasena Party (JnP)

  • Seats Won: 2

Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) [CPI(ML)(L)]

  • Seats Won: 2

Janata Dal (Secular) [JD(S)]

  • Seats Won: 2

Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK)

  • Seats Won: 2

Communist Party of India (CPI)

  • Seats Won: 2

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD)

  • Seats Won: 2

Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (JKN)

  • Seats Won: 2

United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL)

  • Seats Won: 1

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) [HAMS]

  • Seats Won: 1

Kerala Congress (KEC)

  • Seats Won: 1

Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Voice of the People Party (VOTPP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)

  • Seats Won: 1

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)

  • Seats Won: 1

Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLTP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Bharat Adivasi Party (BHRTADVSIP)

  • Seats Won: 1

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM)

  • Seats Won: 1

Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK)

  • Seats Won: 1

Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram) [ASPKR]

  • Seats Won: 1

Apna Dal (Soneylal) [ADAL]

  • Seats Won: 1


  • Seats Won: 1

All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM)

  • Seats Won: 1

Independent (IND)

  • Seats Won: 7

Election Phases

  • Phase 1: April 19, 2024
  • Phase 2: April 25, 2024
  • Phase 3: May 1, 2024
  • Phase 4: May 7, 2024
  • Phase 5: May 14, 2024
  • Phase 6: May 21, 2024
  • Phase 7: June 1, 2024

Key Highlights

  1. BJP’s Performance: While the BJP managed to secure enough seats to form the government with the help of its allies, the loss of 63 seats indicates a slight erosion in its voter base. This could be attributed to various factors including anti-incumbency, regional party influence, and specific local issues.

  2. INC’s Resurgence: The Congress party’s gain of 47 seats marks a significant comeback, suggesting a revival in its organizational strength and voter outreach efforts. This performance indicates that the electorate’s faith in the Congress has somewhat restored.

  3. Regional Party Influence: Parties like the Samajwadi Party, DMK, TDP, and others showed substantial gains, emphasizing the importance of regional politics in the Indian electoral scenario. SP’s gain of 32 seats indicates strong support in Uttar Pradesh, while DMK’s and TDP’s gains highlight their dominance in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh, respectively.

  4. Voter Turnout: The elections saw high voter engagement across all phases, reflecting the electorate’s keen interest in shaping the future political landscape of the country.


The 2024 Lok Sabha elections have underscored a more competitive political environment in India. While the BJP remains a dominant force, the resurgence of the INC and the rise of regional parties like SP, DMK, TDP, and others suggest a more balanced power dynamic. This shift could lead to more coalition politics and a need for greater consensus-building in the legislative process.


The 18th Lok Sabha elections of 2024 have highlighted several key trends in Indian politics, with a slight decline in BJP’s dominance, a revival for the Congress, and increased influence of regional parties. These results will likely shape the future of Indian governance and policy-making, emphasizing the importance of alliances and the voice of regional entities in the national political arena.


Official website of ECI



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *